About us

GALLEY BEGGAR PRESS is an independent publisher committed to publishing daring, innovative fiction and narrative non-fiction.

Galley Beggars at Shakespeare & Company, 2017

Galley Beggars at Shakespeare & Company, 2017

Founded in 2012, we are particularly keen to support writers of great literary talent writing outside the norm, who push the boundaries of form and language. Over the past six years, our authors – from Preti Taneja (We that are young), to Eimear McBride (A Girl Is A Half-formed Thing), Alex Pheby (Playthings, Lucia), Paul Ewen (Francis Plug) and beyond – have gone on to be longlisted, shortlisted, and the winners of over twenty of the world’s most prestigious literary awards, including the Women’s Prize for Fiction, The Wellcome Book Prize, The Goldsmiths Prize, The Desmond Elliott Prize, The Jan Michalski Prize, The Folio Prize, The Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, and the Frank O’Connor Short Story Prize.

We have been called a “small-but-mighty institution” (The Desmond Elliott Prize), a “tiny publisher… with a cartload of guts” (The Guardian), and “revolutionary” (The Telegraph).

GALLEY BEGGAR PRESS is run by its co-founders, Sam Jordison and Eloise Millar. 

For submission information, head here

To sign up for our monthly newsletter, head here

To contact us regarding an order, review copies, or rights requests, email: 

For customer service enquiries email:

Finally, the most important thing for writers and small presses is readers; to subscribe to Galley Beggar Press, offer vital support, and receive special limited editions of our books, head here