The Galley Beggar Press
Short Story Prize 2018/19

thanks to everyone who entered this year’s Galley Beggar Press Short Story Prize. … after months of reading and a fine judging session, we are pleased to announce the longlist:

Alice Ash, ‘Eggs’, Thomas Chadwick, ‘Above the fat’, Mikaella Clements, ‘The Proci’, Holly Fitzgerald, ‘Little boxes’, Laura Kaye, ‘Girls’, Vijay Khurana, ‘Zenith’, Nicholas Petty, ‘It is summer at Camp Pomodoro’, Guy Ware, ‘Confidence interval’, Martha Whatley, ‘Good girl’, Anna Wood, ‘When can you start?’

In addition to the final longlist of ten, we also have a number of special mentions, for stories which impressed and moved one or more of our judges: ‘Keener sounds’, by Richard Strachan; ‘Two’, by Laura Hayward; ‘As for Tokyo’, by Gordon Collins; ‘Sal’, by Emma Hutton; ‘What's for you won’t go by you’, by Uschi Gatward; ‘Other people’s dirt’, by Alison Armstrong

Meet the 2018/19 Galley Beggar Press Short Story Prize longlist

Key dates: 
Longlist announcement: 11 February 2019
Shortlist announcement: 1 March 2019
Prize-winner announcement: 22 March 2019 

The winning author will receive £1000 or one year’s editorial support for a writing project.
Shortlisted authors will each receive £150.
Longlisted authors will receive £50 of book vouchers and a 4-book subscription to Galley Beggar Press.  

the 2018/19 PRize judges

Past winners